Out of town Saturdays: Buenos Aires by Bicycle Pt. 1

 

2013-07-15-7744

As promised, I have put together a post with high-resolution photos from my recent trip to Buenos Aires. This will be a two part series- the first post featuring various bicycle-related scenes around Buenos Aires, and second featuring photos from our day-long trip around the city by bicycle.

2013-07-15-7616

As I mentioned in a previous post about biking in BA, cycling seems to be just catching on as a viable way to get around among middle class people and students, due in part to the city’s heavy promotion of the bicycle and building protected of bikeways. I got the sense, though, that these bike delivery guys have been at it through thick and thin. A pretty common scene around BA are bicycle delivery workers riding “bike trucks”, with smaller front wheels and heavy duty racks.

2013-07-15-7652

Given the city’s infamous gridlock, it is no wonder more people are turning to cycling. The city offers a public bike share system featuring bright yellow bikes.

2013-07-15-8054

Though the city’s bikeway network is extensive, it does not connect everywhere, and it often interrupted by construction. The two-way paths are also rather narrow and are not conducive to side by side social riding. Perhaps in the future the city will find room to widen the paths. The city’s informative website describes the bikeway network and the thought behind it (brought to you by Google Translate):

“International experience shows that coexistence or preferential lanes are not respected by motorists which creates a danger or insecurity for the rider. Based on these facts and statistics on urban planning experts projected a protected network that promotes cycling and prevent road accidents.”

2013-07-15-7712

2013-07-15-7996

“No parking in the bike path”

Stay tuned for part two.

 

3 Comments on “Out of town Saturdays: Buenos Aires by Bicycle Pt. 1”

  1. […] Cycle Style Boston is taking you abroad. Having already taken you to the bustling streets of Buenos Aires, we now head east. Last September I had the privilege of travelling to Tanzania for a family […]

  2. Anita says:

    ¡Hola!

    I just discovered your website through Bikeyface! I am a fairly new cyclist in my city of Savannah, GA.

    I studied abroad in Buenos Aires in college and I questioned people that lived there if it was ok for me to get around by bike. My program coordinator and host family adamantly advised against it and I acquiesced because I assumed they were looking out for me and my safety!

    So you can imagine how proud I am to see the city of Buenos Aires being progressive and making those part of the bike culture feel safe on those busy streets. It’s a coincidence that they started this project in July 2009 (the month after I arrived!) and I had no idea. Had I known, I would have volunteered for this project.

    These lanes look more safe than those here in Savannah! Thanks for this piece! 🙂

  3. jmcgee00 says:

    ¡Hola!

    I just discovered your website through Bikeyface! I am a fairly new cyclist in my city of Savannah, GA.

    I studied abroad in Buenos Aires in college and I questioned people that lived there if it was ok for me to get around by bike. My program coordinator and host family adamantly advised against it and I acquiesced because I assumed they were looking out for me and my safety!

    So you can imagine how proud I am to see the city of Buenos Aires being progressive and making those part of the bike culture feel safe on those busy streets. It’s a coincidence that they started this project in July 2009 (the month after I arrived!) and I had no idea. Had I known, I would have volunteered for this project.

    These lanes look more safe than those here in Savannah! Thanks for this piece! 🙂


Leave a Reply

